On this page, you will find links to all the electronic databases to which Mercyhurst Prep subscribes. You'll be able to click on the link and use the databases without typing in any password when you are at school. When outside of school, however, you'll need to use the designated password and username to login to each database. Please contact your teacher or Mrs. Sacco-Ganger for the password and username.
 |
JSTOR | Digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. It provides full text searches of almost 2,000 journals covering over 150 academic topics. This provides in-depth analysis and scholarship on a number of topics, and would be most suitable for students doing higher-level research on a specific topic. HINT: CLICK ON ADVANCED SEARCH TO NARROW OPTIONS AND FOCUS ON SPECIFIC TOPICS. | About |
| Databases | Description | More Information | |
 |
|||
| Gale Virtual Reference Library | More than 7,000 full text titles within 18 subject areas. Offers coverage of virtually every academic, scholarly and professional discipline, delivering titles for all kinds of research. Includes scholarly works from a number of publishers. | Help | |
 |
|||
| Academic Search Main Edition | Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more. | ||
| MasterFILE Main Edition | Provides full text for magazines, trade publications and periodicals covering general interest subject areas. This database also contains an Image Collection containing photos, maps & flags (Licensed and Public Domain imagery) | ||
| GreenFile | Comprehensive resource draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more | Visit EBSCO Host for help or to search several databases simultaneously | |
| eBook Collection | More than 130,000 eBooks, representing a broad range of academic subject matter. Contains books on a multitude of subjects. | More Information | |
| Regional Business News | Full-text business publications, on a regional level, for the United States and Canadian provinces. Key resources include newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, trade publications, magazines and newswires, with full-text content coverage spanning over 22 years. | More Information | |
| Business Source Main | Provides bibliographic and full-text content covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Contains full text for 734 magazines and journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,269 titles | More Information | |
| Associated Press Image Collection | Primary source database. Features photographs, audio sound bites, graphics and text spanning over 185 years. | Please visit the website for more information | |
| Newspaper Source Plus | Provides more than 1,400 full-text newspapers, providing more than 55 million full-text articles. This database contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers. The database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts. Videos and podcasts are coming soon. | More Information | |
| Newswires | Full-text database that contains harvested news from the Associated Press. When a link to a news story is clicked, you are brought to the Detailed Record and HTML Full Text of the story | More Information | |
| Web News | Near real-time access to thousands of top news feeds from around the globe. This collection includes over 14,000 feeds covering a range of business and general news topics. Users can immediately access the full text of the web content, by following the link in the record. | More Information | |
| Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts | Indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s. | More Information | |
| Consumer Health Complete | Single-most comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support the information needs of students and patients, as well as to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. Articles, videos, images, current events, fact sheets. Includes up-to-date medical and health information on many topics, from alternative medicine to daily health care. | More Information | |